Project Management Processes – PMBOK® Fifth Edition

April 9, 2013 0 Comments

As per the project management body of knowledge (PMBOK® Guide) – Fifth Edition, there are 47 project management processes covered under 10 knowledge areas and 5 process groups.

The five process groups are

  • Initiating
  • Planning
  • Executing
  • Monitoring & Controlling
  • Closing

The Ten knowledge Areas are

  • Project Integration Management
  • Project Scope Management
  • Project Time Management
  • Project Cost Management
  • Project Quality Management
  • Project Human Resource Management
  • Project Communications Management
  • Project Risk Management
  • Project Procurement Management
  • Project Stakeholder Management   new

The mapping among 47 processes , 10 knowledge areas and 5 process groups are outlined below.

Project Management Process

47 project processes grouped by knowledge area

Project Management Process grouped by 10 knowledge areas

47 processes grouped by Process Group

Project Management Process grouped by 5 Process Group


A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge – PMBOK® Fifth Edition

PMI, PMP and PMBOK are trademarks registered by Project Management Institute


About the Author:

Project Manager having 11 years of experience in IT.

Leave a Reply